JANUARY 2008: MAGAZINE ROUND UP

The holiday period is one which allows the time to have a good look through the glossy magazines we love so much. So I found it very disappointing when InStyle, Elle, Vogue and Harper’s Bazaar had such boring issues. I am sure there are good reasons for this, the time of the year, the bumper February issues with all the news of spring/summer 2008 collections etc. But still when I had a two and a half hour plane journey home I was looking forward to delving into the new magazines I had just purchased and then realised that everything that I expected to be in the January 2008 issue, style for the Christmas and New Year period, I had already read in 2008. I might be being a bit harsh, especially on Vogue and Harper’s, there were some good features in all four but there was not the same quantity as I was used to. They were also extremely predictable: ‘What to look for in 2008’, how to kick start your beauty regime. Vogue’s beauty editor, to her credit, decided against the later because she did not want her readers to feel guilty before the festive season had already begun and so we can look forward to Vogue’s regime recommendations in their February Issue.

 THE COVERS: Model or Celebrity?

I take issue with the the influx of celebrites, normally actresses, on the cover of magazines. This month, out of the four, three had celebrity portraits. In particular I do not think Vogue and Harper’s Bazaar should encourage this trend as their contact is very high fashion, rather than high street. Although encouragingly the later did choose an up and coming Russian model by the name of Franziska Frank (what a great name!). Models are just that, models, and I find that their covers are inspired, refreshing and different. The talk of the end of the ‘supermodel’ is not surprising if models no longer grace the covers of magazines and lead international design houses’ campaigns.

Who was on the covers this month?

Elle: Keira Knightly in dress by Stella McCartney, jacket by Gucci, watch by Tag Heuer

Harper’s Bazaar: Franziska Frank in hot pink, sil voile dress, £1 495 Burberry

InStyle: Jessica Alba in white dress by Celine

Vogue: Eva Green in floral dress, £5 670 by Prada


About this entry